User Portal

Seychelles sets up energy regulator

April 2014

SEYCHELLES HAS become the latest SADC Member State to create an institution to regulate operations of the energy sector.

The newly formed Seychelles Energy Commission (SEC) becomes the 12th energy regulator in the SADC region.

Other regulatory bodies exist in Angola, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The Office for Electricity Regulation (ORE) of Madagascar is, however, not a member of the Regional Electricity Regulators Association of Southern Africa (RERA). The remaining three SADC Member States (Botswana, DRC and Mauritius) are at various stages of energy sector reform.

Of the 12 Member States with regulatory bodies, four are electricity regulators, six are energy regulators and two are multi-sector (energy/ water) regulators.

The electricity regulators are the Institute for Electricity Sector Regulation of Angola, National Electricity Advisory Council (Mozambique), and Electricity Control Board (Namibia).

Energy regulators available in the region are the Malawi Energy Regulatory Authority, National Energy Regulator of South Africa, Swaziland Energy Regulatory Authority, Energy Regulation Board (Zambia), and Zimbabwe Energy Regulatory Authority.

The multi-sector regulatory bodies are the Lesotho Electricity and Water Authority and the Energy & Water Utilities Regulatory Authority (Tanzania).