User Portal

ZiZaBoNa shareholders agreement finalized

December 2013

A COMMITTEE of lawyers from Zimbabwe, Zambia, Botswana and Namibia has agreed on how an electricity transmission interconnector linking the four southern African countries will be structured.

The ZiZaBoNa Lawyers Committee met in September in Windhoek, Namibia to finalise the Shareholders Agreement.

Under the agreement, the respective power utilities from the four countries will have equal shareholdings and are all expected to finance parts of the project that fall within their national boundaries.

The initial capacity of the transmission interconnector will be 300 megawatts (MW), which will later be increased to 600MW.

The project is to be implemented in two phases. The first phase will cover the construction of a 120-kilometre 330 kilovolt line from Hwange Power Station to Victoria Falls where a switching station will be built on the Zimbabwe side.

The line will extend to a substation at Livingstone in Zambia. The second phase will involve the construction of a 300km 330kV line from Livingstone to Katima Mulilo in Namibia, through Pandamatenga in Botswana.

The Zimbabwe-Zambia interconnector will be built as a high voltage line with a transmission capacity of 430kV. However, it will operate as a 330kV line during the first phase.

SOUTHERN AFRICA TODAY, December 2013 Full PDF  click here